02 December 2013 ~ 0 Comments

Noorani takes Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India 2013 title at season finalé

2013 Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India 2013: Rahil Noorani

On his 24th birthday, Rahil Noorani was crowned the Volkswagen R-Cup India 2013 champion at the series’ final round yesterday. The Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida hosted the season finalé, where the Indian recorded third, fourth and second place finishes as he overcame his arch rival Prashanth Tharani. The first race was won by South African Polo driver Jeffrey Kruger ahead of his sister Robyn Kruger, who was a guest entrant. In the second race of the weekend, Gaurav Mehta was victorious ahead of Jeffrey Kruger and Lee Keshav Gupta. Victory in the third race was again sealed by Jeffrey Kruger with Noorani in second, and Kartik Tharani on the last step of the podium.

Continue Reading

12 August 2013 ~ 0 Comments

One-two finishes for Kruger at round two of Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India

Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India 2013: Coimbatore, Kruger and Tharani

South African Engen Volkswagen Cup driver Jeffrey Kruger took victory at the second round of the Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India 2013 on 11 August. During the first race of the double-header, the championship leader and guest driver couldn’t get past pole-sitter Prasanth Tharani and had to settle for second place. Rahil Nooranj completed the podium positions. Nooranj then crossed the line first in the second race, but was awarded a 20-second time penalty for a jump start. This meant Kruger was handed his second win of the season, finishing ahead of Tharani and Yatin Magu. ‘I’ve made the podium in every Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India race so far. That’s given me the motivation to win even more races,’ said Kruger.

Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India 2013: Coimbatore, Volkswagen Vento Cup race

The races at Coimbatore also saw the debut of the support championship the Volkswagen Vento Cup. With a field of eight cars, the 10-lap race marked, as far as we know, the first time the Polo’s booted sister has taken to the race track. Details on the cars themselves are scant, but they may be the same as the Tiger Sports 180bhp 900kg racing Vento unveiled last month. Volkswagen India Motorsport runs the five-round Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India 2013 series in conjunction with JK Tyres. The field of young, largely Indian racers drive identical and centrally prepared 1.4-litre TSI-engined, 178bhp Polo R-Cup cars. Round 3 of the championship is due to take place on 27-29 September at Greater Noida.

Continue Reading

23 July 2013 ~ 0 Comments

Kruger and Noorani victories kickstart Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India 2013

Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India 2013: Round 1, Coimbatore

South African Driver Jeffrey Kruger made a string start to his championship hopes in the first round of the 2013 Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India, which took place at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore last weekend. Taking first and second places in the two races which made up the first round of the season, the guest driver took victory in race two from seventh on the grid, ahead of rookie Karthik Tharani and Polo R-Cup India regular Rahil Noorani. In race one, Kruger couldn’t get past Noorani and had to settle for second place. Prashanth Tharani came in behind the pair in third place.

With four race weekends still to come, Kruger is top of the overall standings. Now into its fourth season, the Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India has fourteen new racers for 2013, along with seven drivers from the 2012 season. Each round is scheduled as a double-header event, with a pair of races run over the duration of the weekend. Other venues include the Madras Motor Sports Track in Chennai and the Buddh International Circuit near Delhi. The next round is in Chennai at MMST on 9-11 August.

In related news, the third round of the 2013 Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India, scheduled for 6-8 September, could be held in Srinagar on a street circuit. Pending essential safety clearances from FIA-appointed stewards, the race would be similar to 2012’s street race at the Balewadi Sports complex near Pune, and the night-time event in Colombo. Volkswagen India Motorsport runs the five-round Volkswagen Polo R-Cup India 2013 series in conjunction with JK Tyres. The field of young largely Indian racers drive identical and centrally prepared 1.4-litre TSI-engined, 178bhp Polo R-Cup cars.

[Images: VW Motorsport India]

Continue Reading


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.